## DRAMATIS PERSONAE

ORGANISATIONS	
Aristo Oil International Limited	A Dubai registered company registered to Mr Hosseinzadeh and Saeed Mohd Baqer Saeed Safiq Darani, and Abdulla Ahmed Ali Alkhaja (Emirati). Alleged to have been used to make payments to Mr Ghorbanoghli.
The Bonyad	The Bonyad Mostazafen, a charitable fund established by the Supreme Leader. Shareholder in IEDC.
Darya	Darya Omid Noor Ltd, an Iranian company which signed an MOU to be part of MTN's original bid consortium, but was not party to the consortium agreement.
Denel	Denel (Pty) Ltd, a South African state-owned aerospace and defence technology conglomerate.
EAC	East Asian Consortium, subsidiary of Turkcell which joined the Irancell consortium.
IAEA	The International Atomic Energy Agency.
IEDC	Iran Electronic Development Company, owned primarily by Sairan (Iranian Ministry of Defence subsidiary) and the Bonyad. Shareholder in MTN Irancell.
Ijad Ertebatat Beinalmelal	An Iranian company which formed party of MTN's original bid consortium.
Irancell consortium	Made up of EAC, IEDC and Parman Ertebat.
Iran Helicopter Support and Renewal Company	Iranian helicopter manufacturing company, also known as PANHA.
MCIT	Ministry of Communications and Information Technology of Iran.
MTN Management Services Company (Pty) Ltd	MANCO, a subsidiary of MTN. This was the cost centre for the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Nhleko.
MTNI	MTN International (Mauritius) Limited, a subsidiary of MTN. This was the cost centre for Mrs Charnley.

National Conventional Arms Control Committee	South African political organisation, set up in 1995 to have responsibility for arms trade and transfer policies.
Parman Ertebat	Iranian Company, member of original Irancell consortium (JV between Turkcell and IEDC). Now liquidated.
Sairan	Also known as Iran Electronics Industries, a state-owned subsidiary of Iran's Ministry of Defence. Shareholder in IEDC.
Turkcell	Turkcell Iletisim Hitzmetleri AS.
INDIVIDUALS	
Mr Mohammad Adeli	Iranian politician. Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs in the period 1999 to 2004.
President Ahmadinejad	Sixth President of Iran, since 2005.
Mr Hamid Aref	An Iranian businessman that was connected with Darya.
Mr Mahdi Basadien	South African diplomat, posted to the embassy in Iran from 2001 to late 2005 as Deputy Head of Mission.
Mrs Irene Charnley	Former MTN Group Commercial Director (resigned in March 2007).
Mr Bruce Cleaver	A former partner of Webber Wentzel. Left the firm in 2005.
Mr Sifiso Dabengwa	MTN Group CEO since 1 April 2011. An executive director of MTN since 1 October 2001.
Ms Jyoti Desai	MTN employee, Chief Operating Officer of MTN Irancell from 2005 until 2011.
Ms Bronwyn De Villiers	Mr Nhleko's personal assistant.
Mr Alireza Dezfouli	CEO of MTN Irancell.
Mr Shauket Fakie	MTN Head of Business Risk Management. Joined MTN in July 2006.
Dr Masoum Fardis	MCIT Regulator in charge of the second GSM bidding process.

Dr Mohammad Forouzandeh	President of the Bonyad since 1999.
Mr Javid Ghorbanoghli	Director General of Africa Department in the Iranian
	Ministry for Foreign Affairs from 1994 to 2008. Removed from office in March/April 2008.
	Iranian Ambassador to South Africa from 1999 to March 2004.
Mr Mousa Hosseinzadeh	Principal of Aristo Oil International Limited and an Iranian colleague of Mr Ghorbanoghli.
Mr Jarrahi	The Iranian Deputy Minister of Defence.
President Mohammad Khatami	Fifth President of Iran, from 1997 to 2005.
Mr Christian Kilowan	Former MTN employee, office representative in Iran. Joined MTN on 12 September 2004 and resigned from MTN on 1 November 2007, with his notice period expiring on 30 November 2007.
Mr Patrick "Terror" Lekota	South African politician. Minister of Defence from 1999 to 2008.
Mr Graham Mackinnon	MTN employee, based in MTN's legal department in the period 1998 to 2009.
Mr Siyabonga Madyibi	Former Senior Regulatory Adviser at MTN.
Dr Ebrahim Mahmoudzadeh	Chairman of Irancell since 2005. President of Sairan since April 2004.
President Thabo Mbeki	South African President from 1999 to 2008.
Ambassador Abdul Minty	South African Ambassador to the Board of Governors of the IAEA since 1995.
	Also Deputy Director General of South Africa's Department of Foreign Affairs and Chairperson of the South African Council for the Non-Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction and the Council for Space Affairs. Member of the Board of the South African National Atomic Energy Corporation and Representative of the Department of Foreign Affairs on South Africa's National Conventional Arms Control Committee.

Ms Phumzile Mlambo- Ngcuka	South African politician. Minister of Mineral and Energy Affairs from 1999 to 2005.
Mr Victor Moche	Former chief executive of Denel and ANC politician.
Mr Mohammad Mokhber	Chairman of IEDC in 2005. Deputy President of the Bonyad until 2007.
Dr Seyyed Ahmad Motamedi	Minister of Communications and Information Technology from 2001 to 2005, responsible for the GSM2 licence tender.
Mr Phuthuma Nhleko	Former MTN Group CEO in the period 2004 until March 2011.
Mr Rob Nisbet	Former MTN Group CFO. Joined MTN in 1995 and resigned in Oct 2009.
Mr Nkateko "Snakes" Nyoka	MTN's General Manager, Business Development – Middle East in the period 1 March 2004 to 30 November 2004.
Mr Nazir Patel	MTN Group CFO since 2009. Former Head of Executive Group Finance for MTN Management Services (Pty) Limited.
Mr Shervin Pishevar	An Iranian businessman who formed part of MTN's original bid consortium. Connected with Darya.
Mr Rubysen Rambocus	MTN International (Mauritius) Limited Executive Director – Operations in the period 2002 to 2011.
Dr Riahi	Iranian civil servant, in the Ministry of Interior.
Dr Hassan Rowhani	Secretary of the Supreme National Security Council from 1989 to 2005.
Ambassador Yusuf Saloojee	South African Ambassador to Iran from around May 2004 to around May 2007.
M.K. Sarraf	Former Deputy of MCIT. A member of MTN's original bid consortium.
Rear Admiral Shamkhani	Iranian Minister of Defence from 1997 to 2005.
Mr Abbas Vafaei	Vice president of Sairan in 2004.

Ambassador Mzolisi Mabude	South African Ambassador to Iran in the period 2000 to 2005.
Mr Charles Wheeler	MTN's General Counsel in the period 2002 to 2010.
Ms Lynette Witbooi	Mrs Charnley's personal assistant.